//The Dean’s Cup 2018

The Dean’s Cup 2018

The Dean's Cup

In celebration of the Mindanao State University – College of Law’s 37th Foundation Day, the College of Law showcased for the first time a hybrid debate competition format, a combination of mooting and debate. The oralists-debaters from the three campuses, namely, MSU Law General Santos Extension, MSU Law Iligan Extension and MSU Main Campus, were all invited to compete for the Dean’s Cup last March 4, 2018 at the Academic Complex of the College of Law in MSU Main Campus-Marawi City.

The Dean's Cup
From left to right: Prosecutor Ating Diacat, Dean Alizedney Ditucalan, and Prosecutor Nadjer Pinatara. Photo taken from MSU College of Law FB page.

Aspiring lawyers from all three MSU campuses battled it out in an intellectual discourse focusing on the proposition: “Resolved that, the Philippines should enforce the arbitral award against China involving the West Philippine Sea.”

The knockout round was battled between MSU General Santos Extension and MSU Iligan Extension.

Round 1: MSU General Santos (Affirmative) vs. MSU Iligan (Negative)

The GenSan Extension was composed of Thea Porras, Sarah Mae Consolacion, and Martsu Ressan Ladia. The Iligan Extension was composed of Vogue Vernal B. Orcullo, Ivy Mae D. Pantaleon and Janodin Marohombsar.

The Dean's Cup
Assistant Dean Annabelle Canazares Mindalano advising the MSU Iligan Campus team. Photo by Janna Lantud.

The Finals round was competed between MSU Iligan Extension and MSU Main Campus.

The MSU Main Campus was composed of Princess Haeba Guinar, Rohanie Dimaampao, and Haya Guimbor. Same team members for Iligan Extension.

The Dean's Cup
Eyes on the prize everyone! Photo by Assistant Dean Annabelle Canazares Mindalano.

The winners for the first ever Dean’s Cup are:

Round 1: MSU Iligan Campus

Round 2: MSU Iligan Campus

Best Oralist for MSU Iligan Campus (1st round): Vogue Vernal B. Orcullo

Best Oralist for MSU Gensan Campus (1st round): Martsu Ressan Ladia

Best Oralist for MSU Iligan Campus (2nd round): Ivy Mae D. Pantaleon

Best Oralist for MSU Marawi Main Campus (2nd round): Princess Haeba Guinar

The Dean's Cup
All the participants from MSU Iligan, MSU Marawi, and MSU Gensan did a really great job! Photo by Janna Lantud.

Over-all Best Oralist: Martsu Ressan Ladia

Best In Written Submission: MSU GENSAN CAMPUS

Second-runner up: MSU GENSAN CAMPUS

First-runner up: MSU MAIN CAMPUS

and the Over-all champion: MSU ILIGAN CAMPUS

The Dean's Cup
The Champions with the Debate and Moot Society’s adviser and coach Assistant Dean Annabelle Canazares Mindalano . Photo from MSU College of Law FB page.

Kudos to all the participants and winners for their hard work on the first ever Dean’s Cup!